• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Modern Silver Eagles

14 posts in this topic

I am new to coin collecting and have been thinking of putting a modern silver eagle coin set together in the grade of 70. Is this a good set to put together in that grade? Is the prices reasonable? I have a budget of $200 per month to buy coins with. Would it be smart to buy these coins or just save the $200 a month and buy a really great coin from another series once a year? Please remember, I am a new collector and do not know grading as of yet so certified coins is the way for me at this time.

MS70 coins can get pricey. Buy only NGC or PCGS. $200 a month could likely get you one, maybe 2 common coins, then you'd get down to maybe 1 coin in rarer dates.

It's a good idea to stick with NGC or PCGS certified coins, as has already been stated, but you will find that NGC and PCGS have a slightly different interpretation of what constitutes an MS70 or PF70. NGC gives out the MS70 and PF70 designation more frequently than PCGS, which by itself does not tell you which grading company is correct, but it certainly has an effect on the market price of a coin in a PCGS or NGC holder.

My personal suggestion, if you are really interested in this series, is to buy MS69 or PF69 coins because they are far less expensive and the quality is essentially identical.

If you are simply looking for an investment opportunity then I would put your money into something other than coins. If, however, you are looking to build a collection and your hope is that the value grows, then you are in the same boat with the rest of us and if any of us could see that far into the future that clearly we would all be rich by now. wink.gif