• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

How do you tell a Proof Like from an Actual Proof

11 posts in this topic

Hi Everyone

Last Night I won an auction for a 1942P Mercury that was graded MS67 PL (Proof Like). The Picture of the Mercury did look different from the regular MS67 or 66 Mercurys I have bought. Is there any way of telling by examing the coin once I get it to tell if maybe it is a Proof and Not just Proof Like, or should I Crack it out of the slab and send it to NGC as proof or MS? confused-smiley-013.gif I have some experience in more Modern coins but not in this particular variety. Thanks for any help and opinions on this Matter.

Papag

Ken

First off what comapny graded it?Juts asking because some "grading companies" will slab a PO-1 coin PL.

Anyway back to your question by the obvious was there any proof coin struck for that date and mint,ETC.

Also proof coins have tell tell signs.Finally die varietes.With earlt proofs they can tell because they know about the different dies that struck them.

popcorn.gif

Hi Midwestern

I know that it going to sound silly but it is in an NNC slab. I usally buy NGC coins but I am a true beliver in buying the coin and not the slab. I checked on Ecoins for that particular year and they do have coin values for a 1942P Proof so I'm assuming this year and mint made proofs. Thanks again for your help.

papag

Ken