• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Star grades... Rare ? Common ? Over awarded ? Not given enough ?

55 posts in this topic

Are * grades too common ? Are they not granted enough ? Are they just a silly gimmick ? What are your thoughts on NGC's * grades ?

I can really only talk about Peace * grades since I have been tracking them for the past several years. Out of more than 680,000 Peace $ graded only 203 have been given a *

In the past 2-3 years only 10 have been given a * and none have been handed out in the past 8 months.

I have no idea if a * rate of .0003 is normal for most series but it seems a bit low to me.

Do you pay more for * ? Does it even matter to you ? Does a * increase value ?

My curious mind wants to know....

I can not speak for peace dollars as I have not looked at star grades for them. However I usually try to buy a Cameo or UltraCameo. I feel the star is given out when the coin is Cameo on only one side.

Of course you can get a *Cameo. They are definately rare. In some cases a * has more registry points than a Cameo of the same grade. You will also see the star given out for exceptional toning as it represents exceptional eye appeal. I myself would not pay a premimun for a star. I would just use the money to buy a higher grade.

Are * grades too common ? Are they not granted enough ? Are they just a silly gimmick ? What are your thoughts on NGC's * grades ?

I can really only talk about Peace * grades since I have been tracking them for the past several years. Out of more than 680,000 Peace $ graded only 203 have been given a *

Ok, so 203 / 680000 = 0.0003

In the past 2-3 years only 10 have been given a * and none have been handed out in the past 8 months.