• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Will this Grade ok 1900 Gold $5

15 posts in this topic

I am a member and have coins graded before by NGC but no Gold. Also being in Australia its expensive and time consuming. Anyone care to chime in with thoughts on this and what it may grade. The fields are very good and am unsure whether this would help the grade

dscn5402.jpg

dscn5399.jpg

From your pics the fields look clear and the coin looks very well struck, the key component is mint luster. That is difficult to determine from your pics. If your coin does have a nice cartwheel luster then it may grade MS63-64.

Carl

I am very sure it is a "details" improperly cleaned coin. That said, I am no gold expert, so it may or may not be worth having slabbed with a UNC details label.

could you explain what in the pics makes you very sure it was improperly cleaned?

the pics are not great, but i don't see any problem that's jumping at me.

MS63 is my opinion.

I am very sure it is a "details" improperly cleaned coin. That said, I am no gold expert, so it may or may not be worth having slabbed with a UNC details label.

could you explain what in the pics makes you very sure it was improperly cleaned?

MS63 is my opinion.

Hey,

Just my newbie opinion here.

Look at the obverse fields, you will find that the luster is subdued. You will also find plenty of concentrated chatter in the fields as well as luster breaks, consistent with a cleaning. Furthemore the contrast of the fields mainly the dark-ish part at 7 O' Clock show a proof-like coin as a result of cleaning/polishing. This is often seen with cleaned coins. Also see the haloes around the devices? These are also a sign common with cleaned coins.

-zx