• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Image Evolution

44 posts in this topic

Here is a new image of my latest NEWP using CFL's. When I started shooting, I went strictly by Mark Goodman's book and he seemed to favor halogens. Halogens give great images, but you get hot spots (very white streaks) where the lights are strongly reflecting of the surfaces into the lens as a result of the fact that there is a heck of alot of light in halogens. There are advantages to having strong lights and Mark is the master of taking advantage of them in his technique. I have had Hard Times (shrug) with various kinds of coins with halogens because of this as I am far from the abilities of Sir Goodman. Bob Campbell (Robec) and Todd Pollock (Blue CC Photos) both use CFL's and have given me advice on them. I ultimately bought the ones Bob recommended, and I have bugged Todd many times at shows with many questions about imaging. So below is am image using the CFL's and I am slowly switching over as they seem to be doing a good job for me. There still may be times I go back to halogens, but for now working on technique with the CFL's. These are not 'juiced' images this is exactly what this bust dime looks like when titled in the light to bring out the rich toning. Not perfect, but I am getting close...... So I m thinkin' CFL's are a good thing, thanks to Bob and Todd for advice. BTW, I bought this lovely bust dime on ebay, no kidding.

Best, HT

1832dPCGSXF45CAC.jpg

I've been using CFLs for years. The big advantage they have is they don't get hot. I can move, manipulate, filter, and diffuse them without burning myself or starting a fire.