• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

ICG coins

29 posts in this topic

I have several ICG graded coins -- in the $500-$1000 range (per PCGS.com).

In my eye, they look graded correctly -- but I am no expert -- but not a novice either.

So, do I crack them out and submit to PCGS or NGC, or keep them in their current ICG holders?

I don't have any pics to post, so consider this a general question.

Thanks.

Let me clarify....crack them out and submit to NGC/PCGS or keep them in my collection as it.

Thank You.

I would cross them personally. ICG coins have issues with liquidity, but I have been able to cherry pick some coins at good prices. I have a few gold coins (all pre 1900) that appear to be accurately graded too. I'm hoping to submit one to NGC soon.

I'd have them regraded. If they're like most ICG holders, the holder is too scuffed up for a grader to be able to cross at grade while the coin is in the holder. You'll either have to polish the slab first or crack the coin out. I'd have to see the coins first before I'd decide whether to submit raw or in the holders.

Let me clarify....crack them out and submit to NGC/PCGS or keep them in my collection as it.

I say this to everyone. IF you are not going to sell the coins anytime soon don't bother wasting your money on TPGs or stickers or any of that . If you want to spend money do it buying more coins or whatever. IMO.

When it's time to sell then by all means...get them into holders that provides liquidity.

jom

I say this to everyone. IF you are not going to sell the coins anytime soon don't bother wasting your money on TPGs or stickers or any of that . If you want to spend money do it buying more coins or whatever. IMO.