• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Need help from the Buffalo guys....

20 posts in this topic

I am by no means an expert in this series... I got a coin long time ago.. marked as UNC...... I think the coin looks MS.... But I could be totally wrong..... What do you think....

MVC-859X.JPGMVC-860X.JPG

judging from the picture, it appears to be used, or have some rub. Appears AU55-58, really hard to tell from the position the coin is angled at, do you have a normal, straight on shot of the coin?

hmmm, that looks much better, but very hard to tell, looks like it is anywhere in the AU58-MS63 range. I would be more concerned with getting rid of the green at 11 o'clock on the obverse.

The coin is NOT AU as far as I can tell. It's probably just a low end UNC.

Use this guide:

stuff.jpg

Where you see "S" are areas that sometimes do not strike up completely.

Where use see the "W" are areas to look for wear. It works real well by using the reverse Buff's butt. The point on the top of the Buff is usually where the first "plateau" of wear will show on the coin. Once you see the wear it is clear as day. I don't see that on your coin.

jom

buff.jpg

I'd side with Jom as he's more experienced then me. If I had to grade it, I would lean more towards an AU grade. Then again, I thought the one above would grade higher and it came back an MS62.

Dave

dakra: From the looks for the obverse your coin could be a gem. BUT...it's just a picture and we all know you can't really tell from a picture. It also depends on the reverse. Is it fully struck?