• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Coin grading services

12 posts in this topic

I have done some research on this but don't have the experience of many of you. I recently used NGC to grade some coins...thought a few were under graded but then I'm not an expert...but have looked at hundreds of pictures of different MS graded coins.

I am thinking about sending a few to ANACS...my question....is the value of a coin in the market dramatically effected by whether it is graded by NGC, PCGS or ANACS?

Thanks, hope you all are well!

Yes. ANACS has the lowest respect, thus the lowest value (don't send anything to ANACS that you hope to resell - modern ANACS is essentially a third world slab). NGC and PCGS are about equal (though certain PCGS coins demand a higher price). I personally prefer NGC, due to their excellent customer service. Oh, and this website belongs to NGC.

This is why I joined, great company and good service...with good resources....it seems that like with any art..coin grading can be a bit subjective...it seems that even the 70 point scale is applied differently at times...as you all know...big diffrence in value between an MS 62 to MS 64 or 65 on many morgans.

Someone posted a comment jokingly perhaps that it depends on how much coffee the grader had that morning...clearly NGC and PCGS are considered the silver standard...for the life of me, I see coins graded MS65 that do not look any better than than some 63''s...I'm not the expert but when a coin has some bag marks in the fields and minor scratches, with good luster...and gets a 62 but a similar coin gets a 65 I look with great interest so that I can try to initially grade mine more accurately...