• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Bag marks and grades

13 posts in this topic

Hello all... yes, I am a total newbie.

So I have this morgan, 1879-S, that has, IMHO, significant "bag marks" on the reverse... and it is slabbed by one of those "other" grading companies. :roflmao: BUT I hope to submit it for a crossover. ...Would NGC details grade this coin due to these marks?

...having difficulty posting image, if it does not show up, I will attempt again. Thx.

93000.jpg.59a6968e6c763280d4ec0a6b42af1b58.jpg

Welcome to the neighborhood!

First of all, you don't have to be afraid of mentioning the name of another TPGS around here. We may be crazy at times, but we're not fanatics.

From your photo, it looks like it's in an NTC (Numistrust) slab. NTC usually overgrades coins by one or two points, and you should keep that in mind when considering one for purchase. That doesn't mean that you can't find some fairly nice coins in their slabs as long as you pay an appropriate price.

You didn't show us a photo of the obverse so there is no way anyone can give you an estimate of the grade, but I wonder why you would want to go to the expense of having it crossed to NGC when it is not a very expensive coin anyway. The grading fees and shipping & insurance would end up being at least half of what the coin is worth.