• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Learning a lesson from NGC

5 posts in this topic

I would at the boards patience with me like to Thank NGC for 2 lessons I learned this past week. First I am a novice and I'm posting this to maybe help other novices out there from reaching this point a little sooner. I have been collecting coins now for about 3 to 4 years and have bought what I thought were good bargins on some slabbed coins from other grading services. To me as I bought the coin and not the slab they were great deals and grades. I recently had coins crossed at any grade by NGC. These were coins that I thought would hold up better in an NGC slab over time compared to the others as I have learned from this board. I guess I was a little shocked at first when they came back and not one of the coins were graded to the standards of the other grading services. Then here is where the lessons come into play. I do have NGC slabs as well and I started to compare there grades to other grading companies grades and noticed the differences on the coins I DIDN"T NOTICE BEFORE. Especially in the Cameo and DCAM areas. The lessons I learned was this: