• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

What early Commemorative issues were circulated the most?

6 posts in this topic

Newbie here on commemoratives and just curious. The redbook says the Columbian 1892-3 did not sell out and many used in circulation. Are there other issues with significant numbers circulated? sumo.gif

Probably BTW halves and I'd say many of the halves issued before the great depression. I'd bet that necessity saw their use in commerce. But that's just a guess.

Many circulated including Washington Carvers; BookerT's (as mentioned) and Pilgrim Tercentenary's; Alabama's; Lexinton-Concord Sequecentennial's; Stone Mountains; Grants; Oregon Trail Memorials; Huguenot-Walloon's, and Sequicentennials. To a slightly lesser degree, Texas Centennials circulated along with Arkansas Centennials and Providence Rhode Islands. Generally if a Commemorative was minted at or around 1921 it circulated due to the Great Depression although, due to some high mintages, halves of 1936 also were dumped into circulation.

Interestingly, the ones that you DON'T find circulated (or, hardly ever) are: Hawaiian's; Vermonts; Maryland Tercentenarys; Hudsons and Cincinnati's. I've also had difficulty finding Wisconsins and Old Spanish Trails in anything less than XF40.

Braddick is definitely the leading expert in this field, but I am his protege, so let me try to add some further details.

The Columbian is certainly the easiest classic commem to find in circulated (and very highly circulated) conditions.

In general, those coins issued (a) before the 1936 commemorative craze, and (b) with very high quantities minted are not hard to find in circulated condition. These include, in particular, Stone Mountain and Monroe.