• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

2006 Silver Proof American Eagles from the mint

23 posts in this topic

I'm new at this so please be nice...

I just received 5 proof sets of the 2006 Silver American Eagles from the US Mint. Is there an advantage to sending them in to NGC for grading? I would have thought that getting them from the mint as a proof set they would have the greatest value?

So, what do you think. Should I have them graded or leave them alone in the display case they came in.

Thanks,

Bob

Personally I think getting these ASE Proofs graded is a waste of money. from what I have seen, most are super frosty DCAMS, and many will grade 68-69 anyway. Unless you were willing to wager on hitting a homerun (PR70DCAM), save the grading fees for more coins. JMHO

Personally I think getting these ASE Proofs graded is a waste of money. from what I have seen, most are super frosty DCAMS, and many will grade 68-69 anyway. Unless you were willing to wager on hitting a homerum (PR70DCAM), save the grading fees for more coins. JMHO

I certainly agree with this!

What do you mean by "advantage"? What are you looking for?

If they are for your collection, I'd suggest buying them already slabbed in the grade you want.

If you are looking to make money on them by slabbing and reselling, then think long and hard about it. You're going to need a PF70 to make up for the losses you're going to take on the PF69s.

On eBay, the PF69s are selling for ~$33 and the PF70s for ~$85. The coin costs $28 from the mint. Grading costs $12.50. So you're over already $40 to have one graded not including the S&H to/from NGC and from the mint. You're probably realistically at ~$46 a coin after having them graded.