• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Someone grade my coin.

17 posts in this topic

I am new to coins and have several Morgans this is the quality of what I have and I am curious what people think as far as the grade the back is just as nice.. There are no indentions on the outer rim of the coin the scan is bad. Thanks,

111090963.jpg

AU is almost uncirculated. This means the coin has full detail and much mint luster with some wear on the high points of the coin relief. Normally AU coins are broken down into (4) grades: AU50, AU53, AU55 and AU58. These numbers represent the amount of wear on the details. AU50 coins would show a fair amount of high point wear. Yours are probably AU50 (hard to tell from scans). AU58 coins look almost like uncirculated coins. You can get a copy of Photograde which will help you refine your grading skills if you wish.

What does a MS60 coin look like and do some of this look like they may be MS. Thanks. (This coins have been stored for 40 years) My scanner doesn't do them any justice as far as luster and shine.

Is hard to tell anything from your scans. They are just to small and out of focus looking. The 1880 could be MS something. Is it an "O" mint?

These look like high-end AU (About Uncirculated) coins that, in years past, were sold in "UNC" rolls. I can't tell you how many times I've looked at rolls of 1885-O, 1883-O and 1904-O Morgans that an "investor" bought as UNC years ago, only to find out that they were heavily dipped slider (AU) coins. For some reason, these three New Orleans years were heavily targeted by promoters back then, I guess because they are so plentiful and cheap.