• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Newbie Looking for Indian head grading guide

14 posts in this topic

I'm fairly new at the coin collecting game (under 2years), and have read as much as I could find on large coins. As most people I know who started Halves and Dollar coins appeal to the eye first. But I'm finding my eye drawn to smaller coins recently. Can any of you give me references to books, or websites that would aide me in the grading of seated dimes and Indian head pennies as I have formed a fetish for them recently. I could just start picking up books, but I hoped you could give me an idea of the better references to look into. Thanks, for the information I have been lurking for awhile but just decided to open my mouth recently.

Any help would be great. Thanks ahead of time.

If you're collecting circulated coins, both Photograde and the ANA Grading Guide have good pictures and descriptions of grades for all US coins.

As for a specialized book on Liberty Seated dimes, Brian Greer's The Complete Guide to Liberty Seated Dimes has a good grading guide and good info on each date and mintmark.

Thanks for the info. I'm planning on working with au+ Indian cents and working on the dimes as a secondary project. Doing both slowly and learning as I go. Fortunately I have a friend locally who has been great at teaching me things and most importantly telling me what to look for when someone is trying to screw me.

thanks

Welcome Aboard Me, Atlantic and MIKEinFL. The IHC is a beautiful series with lots of colorful history and interesting varieties. thumbsup2.gif Sounds like your off to a great start and keep us informed on how it goes.