• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

1946 Jefferson D nickel help

10 posts in this topic

So I was going through my Jefferson collection and came across this 46 that looked different. I’m still learning about strikes, doubling etc. looks like some possible errors here? 

0EFD0B25-5D35-4AD8-BCEF-BDCB65B6F3F8.jpeg

F4C31220-6F2C-4235-9E76-42AF8301A6DD.jpeg

519719AD-B48E-407C-B892-8BCBBED6C1D8.jpeg

8423242B-53A9-4EF9-9576-DFC2CC202AD7.jpeg

On 8/11/2022 at 3:24 AM, Lem E said:

Hello. I see nothing to indicate any errors on this coin. This nickel has seen heavy circulation and has accrued a few bumps and bruises along the way. The voids on the obverse could suggest this coin was plucked from the ground at some point, cleaned up and put back into circulation or took some heavy shots in that area. The mintmark looks to have taken a hit and displaced the metal. This coin lived a hard life and what exactly happened to it is hard to say. Everything you see is most likely PMD (Post Mint Damage). No value over face.

I agree with Lem That nickel has had a tough life

On 8/11/2022 at 3:24 AM, Lem E said:

Hello. I see nothing to indicate any errors on this coin. This nickel has seen heavy circulation and has accrued a few bumps and bruises along the way. The voids on the obverse could suggest this coin was plucked from the ground at some point, cleaned up and put back into circulation or took some heavy shots in that area. The mintmark looks to have taken a hit and displaced the metal. This coin lived a hard life and what exactly happened to it is hard to say. Everything you see is most likely PMD (Post Mint Damage). No value over face.

Ditto

On 8/11/2022 at 8:55 AM, Nysmith9 said:

Should I delete this or leave it up?

Leave it up. It may help a future collector.