• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Grading Ultra fine DDO/DDR Pennies. MS69 1997-D DDO? Is that possible?
2 2

20 posts in this topic

These two coins are the finest in condition I have in my line of Lincoln Doubled Die pennies. Starting from 1927-2000, the year I graduated high school and going off to join the Army Infantry. Here are 2 undocumented DDO/DDR's 1993-D & 1997-D. Here are my questions.

1. Because the coin was struck twice and in doing so caused "damage" or altered the appearance from the original state, but the current state of the "new coin" being struck again is actually causing the damage, or new appearance/die gouges, scratches, etc. Do they lower the grading?

2. Because it is a DDO/DDR and unique and will cause these changes do they only play a part identifying a true DDO DDR?

20220310_124755.jpg

20220310_124920.jpg

20220310_125756.jpg

20220310_130120.jpg

Hi Joe, I think we should start out a little slower. I would not want you to be spending good money sending out coins that will come back in body bags. Where do you see a DDO or a DDR