• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Shipwreck coins...how can you tell if they are real of replicas? I have two and they test a bit over 18K

36 posts in this topic

Judy,

Welcome. How did you come to own this coin? I’m not an expert in these but I doubt highly that it is authentic. It doesn’t look right and it’s an unlikely event to get an uncertified shipwreck gold coin. 

My money is on it being a souvenir shop replica, and I’m surprised it is testing as Gold. Someone more versed will come along soon enough. 

I am inclined to be along the same thought process of @Woods020.  Can you supply us with a weight of your coin? Preferably in 100th's of a gram.  Welcome to the forum.  

On 12/22/2021 at 8:33 PM, Woods020 said:

Judy,

Welcome. How did you come to own this coin? I’m not an expert in these but I doubt highly that it is authentic. It doesn’t look right and it’s an unlikely event to get an uncertified shipwreck gold coin. 

My money is on it being a souvenir shop replica, and I’m surprised it is testing as Gold. Someone more versed will come along soon enough. 

Hi. A coin collector friend of mine had it (actually two of them)...they are indeed gold, as I had them professionally tested...but he most definitely told me they were replicas...but my big question is "should I send it in to grade" or is it a total waste of money?

On 12/22/2021 at 9:00 PM, GBrad said:

I am inclined to be along the same thought process of @Woods020.  Can you supply us with a weight of your coin? Preferably in 100th's of a gram.  Welcome to the forum.  

Hi. Yes, this coin weighs 8.41 grams...it's most definitely gold...just barely above 18K

I had it tested.

On 12/22/2021 at 9:51 PM, Judy Stockton said: