• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Practice Grading: 1857 Flying Penny.....is this coin somewhere between VF-20 and F-12
1 1

8 posts in this topic

I'm new to grading coins and am using both the 7th Edition AMA Grading Standards as well as Flying Eagle Penny Values | Discover Their Worth (coinstudy.com).  I've noticed that they have different scales, but I think I can see where both are going.  I'll try to only bore the board with two or three of these (this one included).

In the favor of a VF rating, you can still see evidence of individual feathers, but the wear of the leading edge of the right wing moves it towards a Fine rating.  The bow on the obverse is still somewhat distinct, but the wreath is worn.

I'm making a guess that this would be considered an example of a "Fine" coin, because of the wear on the leading edge of the right wing.

SC 1857 Flying Penny Obverse.jpg

SC 1857 Flying Penny Reverse.jpg

This one is not a "high flying eagle" and is taking a "nose dive" off the "scales." It might rate About Good or Good, but not something most collectors would pay for. Much nicer 1857 Flying Eagle cents are available for a few dollars. Personally, it's worth about $3 -- certainly not $16 as the referenced web site  claims.

Edited by RWB

On 11/16/2021 at 3:29 PM, RWB said:

This one is not a "high flying eagle" and is taking a "nose dive" off the "scales." It might rate About Good or Good, but not something most collectors would pay for. Much nicer 1857 Flying Eagle cents are available for a few dollars. Personally, it's worth about $3 -- certainly not $16 as the referenced web site  claims.

I'm inclined to agree. The obverse legends are better than anything else going on there. The wreath is just pretty darned bad.

Edited by VKurtB