• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

My Quest is Finished, 1883-S Morgan

18 posts in this topic

Just got this one in the mail today. It’s obviously raw but I took a small gamble and went ahead and got it off EBay. This completes my 1883 Morgan year set, first Silver Dollar set I’ve ever compiled. Not really a big deal in the grand scheme but I do feel a sense of accomplishment having done this especially when I thought the San Fran would never happen. 
Please give me your professional opinions of a grade on this Morgan.

The pics are pretty much a good representation of this coin. It does still have luster and minimal chatter. Thanks!

B4C6DDA6-7B31-4A92-93E2-5037FCBDE351.jpeg

AC0EB6E3-5EED-4274-B696-810E0D284522.jpeg

It's a beautiful coin! 

I'm a professional, but not in a profession having anything to do with numismatics.  :)

My amateur guess:  Comparing it to my graded Morgans, it most closely resembles (both sides) an AU55 that I have.  But I cannot tell whether the apparent softness in the lower part of the hair is in the strike (meaning it's uncirculated), or from a tiny bit of wear.

Mark

Edited by 124Spider

Nice going Greg, the lighting makes it hard to see but it looks like a lot of small nicks and dings but the high points are still in good shape . I will give it a AU 58

Brad, my good friend,

Look at the area around “In God We Trust”. The difference in reflectivity between the really close in areas and those farther out speaks to either wear or cleaning. In this case, it’s hard to say which. He way people grade today, it MIGHT make a low MS grade, but more likely a high AU. The whole range from 55-62 is in flux and a fairly hot mess lately.

On the plus side, the breast feathers are nice.

Edited by VKurtB