• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Haze on silver proofs

14 posts in this topic

I have been collecting proof and silver proof set for a few years now. I pulled them out and was looking at them the other night and noticed that a haze had developed on some of the silver proofs. They are all still in the original mint packaging. I store them in my safe at home. What could be causing the haze?  Humidity?  If it was humidity, wouldn’t it affect all the coins?  At any rate, I threw some silica packets in just to be sure. 

Edit:  is there a way to remove the haze through TPG conservation?

Edited by Jblindy

@Mr.Bill347Thanks for the link. I assume I would need to break them out of the holders they are in? I guess it’s time to pay for an NGC membership.

What causes the hazing? If it’s humidity, why would it affect just a few coins from different holders?

On 11/10/2021 at 11:39 AM, Jblindy said:

I assume I would need to break them out of the holders they are in?

No.  NCS/NGC will take care of that.  Also, NCS will determine, without breaking your slab, whether conservation is needed.  I used them 4 times and have been greatly pleased with the service.  They did such a good job my 1875 $20.00 CC when up one grade.

On 11/10/2021 at 1:24 PM, James Zyskowski said:

Perhaps someone with more computer skills can post the link

Gladly if you let me know where you read the update.

I have many Proof sets and a lot with a haze on the coins but for a proof set that is only worth between $5 and $30 I can see no point in restoration it will not change the value just make it look better.  

On 11/10/2021 at 1:24 PM, James Zyskowski said: