• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

2021 Limited Edition Silver Proof set

11 posts in this topic

Hey y’all, my name is Jason and I’m a newish collector. I’m 50 and needed a new hobby, something less taxing on the ol body.  So I started buying proof and silver proof sets about a year ago. Of course, I’m still learning the ropes so I have a quick and easy question. 

The 2021 Limited Edition Silver Proofs are now available. My question is, should I buy from the US Mint or wait?  It seems like the 2019 and 2020 silver proofs are selling at a premium. I keep hovering my finger over the buy button, but can’t commit if there is a possibility the set will go down in price once the hype wears off. 

I also have a 1889 Morgan that is in great shape. It was part of a small coin collection my mom had before she passed. I’ll post a few picture of it later. I’d like to get some opinions on what I could expect the grade to be. 

Anyway, nice to meet y’all. I hope to use your knowledge to help me grow. 

Welcome to the forum, @Jblindy. Let me start by telling I am not a PRO at coin collecting. I am just an old guy that likes to collect coins, I have never sold any thing. I have all the proof and mint sets from 1956 though this year, including the silver set and limited proof sets.  Most of the sets after 1964 have not went up much more then what I paid for them from the mint. So if you are buying to make money I don't have any advice for you. If you are buying to improve your collection, all I can tell you is the set are very nice, buy what you like and enjoy what you buy. I do believe this years set is over priced, for the coins in it. But I bought it because I have all the rest, and it dose have both types of the ASE in the set. Now the Pros will tell you their advice.