• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

?s on the 2021 American Silver Eagle Reverse Proof 2 coin designer set

18 posts in this topic

Im new to coin collecting but have a few I got when my father passed away. Basically I dont know much but im learning. I bought one of the Silver Eagle 2 coin reverse proof designer coin sets. Of course I dont have it yet as the US mint hasnt mailed it but when I get it;

1; should I send them to either NGC or PCGS to be graded  

2: if so which, NGC or PCGS, should I send them to?

3; Do I need to send them unopened in the US Mint box as it is when I receive it or will that matter?

I have never sent any coins to be graded and slabbed but have a few I plan to post on here soon to get the opinions of those who know more than I do on whether I should send them or not. Several are Eagles, one very clean 1962 Franklin and quite alot of other US coins my dad bought from a dealer at some time or another. I wont flood the chats with alot of coin posts in a large rush as I know there are others out there who are seeking the same educated advice I am.

Thanks for your time, Mike

Welcome Mike. 

First the general guidance you will get is to leave it the way you receive it. With these if you get a 70 you increase the price but a 69 brings less than in the original packaging and you are out fees. With it being a cr@p shoot the smart money is on leaving as is.

With that said many collectors send them in every day. I won’t fault you if you want to submit as a personal preference. Either NGC or PCGS will be fine. They are the top two for sure and it will be a preference, such as which slab you like more, honestly. The outcome will be about the same.