• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Buy the Coin, Not the Holder...
1 1

64 posts in this topic

On 8/20/2021 at 11:54 PM, 124Spider said:

Hi, I'm fairly new to all this, at least compared to most of you. I now have reached the point in the evolution of my collections that I buy few coins, but they're all expensive (and certified).  I have read here the advice, "Buy the coin, not the holder," meaning don't blindly follow the grade, even from NGC or PCGS.....I am really surprised that there could be such variance, but it certainly underscores the advice to buy the coin, not the container! Mark

Welcome, Mark. (thumbsu

No matter where we stand with regards to the TPG and CAC, it is of course true that you have to like the coin.  The fact that a professional grader at a TPG has assigned a grade to a particular coin means that the variance of grading for similar coins is probably lessened...it does NOT mean that each and every coin with that grade is the same.  Some are going to be undergraded, some over graded.

Ultimately...YOU have to like the coin for the grade and $$$ you purchased.  And also like it without regard to either.

I love Saint-Gaudens Double Eagles, a very popular (but expensive) coin to collect.  There are tens of thousands of coins graded MS65 or higher.  They're not all the same.  Some might have cleaner obverses or reverses....some might have 1 or 2 big nicks away from the fields or devices...others might not.....others might have a dozen tiny annoying scuff marks.   No 2 coins are alike and even at MS65 or any other grade the reaons for the grade vary from coin-to-coin.