• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Deciding which coins to have graded....

15 posts in this topic

Hello everyone.  I am very new to collecting and I've never submitted a coin for grading. There are several reasons for this, not the least of which is that I don't know how to know which coins are worth submitting.  I don't have a lot of money for collecting and most of my coins probably aren't worth much but I find them fascinating and I enjoy "the hunt".  That said, I have a few coins that I would like to have graded mostly out of curiosity (Indian cent, some large cents, walking liberty halves, for example). It's too late to make a long story short but here's my question: How does one decide when a coin should be graded?  Do people have "average" coins graded?  I have always associated grading with more valuable coins or high grade coins.  I'm thinking if I can afford to have a coin graded to satisfy my curiosity then that's reason enough.   I'd love to hear your thoughts on this.  

Welcome to coin collecting ! First thing to do is learn how to grade coins buy books or study online at graded coins . Secondly look online see if your coins are “common date” coins most coins are common. Third , depends on how many coins you want to send for grading ? Grading isn’t cheap when you add it all up + shipping + insurance to ship Thats (both ways to the grading company and back). Those are some of things you need think about , perhaps you might be able to sell your common coins , save up a little more money and just buy the same coins already slabbed/graded from a dealer . I see a lot common coins are in graded holders already there no need for me to buy them raw and go through hassle shipping them to grading company ...