• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Philippine Commonwealth and American Coins Inquiry

10 posts in this topic

Hello, I am very new at this coin collecting but I recently saved a bunch of these “junk” coins from being discarded by my parents.  They belong to my grandfather whom I am greatly fond of, he was also notorious for collecting anything American.  Anyways, I would greatly appreciate if you guys could tell me something about these or perhaps an advise whether these will benefi from conservation through NGC or should I leave it the way it is. I am not sure if there is any value of these coins, the rest were minuscule being 5, 10 and 20 cents.  For sentimental reason, I would love to have them restore and slab for longevity.   Seeing and touching them brings back so much memories of my favorite person in the world.  Thanks so much in advance.

2D327234-2AC3-4C92-8F9C-993D111598E2.jpeg

D175EFCA-B4F5-4C6E-8438-4FAF0DF0550E.jpeg

Edited by Blkstng04
Added group

Some information is here https://www.ngccoin.com/price-guide/world/philippines-peso-km-172-1907-1912-cuid-1112357-duid-1518523. These coins are 80% silver so discarding them isn't warranted - the one peso has a current melt value of $9.31.

You mention 5, 10, and 20 cent(avos); the 10s and 20s are either 75% or 90% silver depending on date so don't get rid of them! The 5 centavos are copper-nickel; keep the very best for sentimental value.