• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

1857 Flying Eagle: Real or Counterfeit?

13 posts in this topic

I am a newbie here...And I am no expert, only a casual collector... This coin in not in hand- not slabbed...Only have these pictures to go by. Negotiating price- it's NOT cheap- but seller guarantees authenticity and will accept returns within 30 days. Your thoughts? And thanks in advance!

Screen Shot 2018-03-30 at 1.03.03 PM.png

Screen Shot 2018-03-30 at 5.13.35 PM.png

Screen Shot 2018-03-30 at 5.13.47 PM.png

Screen Shot 2018-03-30 at 5.13.54 PM.png

I am unfamiliar with Flying Eagle Cents, but a few things I would consider in making your decision: Is the seller a dealer or a private individual?  If the seller is a respected dealer, then I would take the risk as they are guaranteeing you a 30 day return policy.  If the seller is a private individual, how well do you know this individual and do you trust them to honor their return policy?  I hope that this is of at least some help.

I don't see a sign that it's fake but I'm in question on the color though. I'm far from an expert, so I would wait for others to chime in. 

5 minutes ago, bsshog40 said:

I'm in question on the color though. 

I had that same thought. Could just be the pics, though. Maybe Bill Jones or one of the other copper experts will chime in.

My first thought is it looks too good to be true, especially because it's not slabbed already.  At the very least, I think it may have been altered to look better, so getting it graded would probably result in a details holder.  It's a beautiful coin, and I can certainly see why you're attracted to it, and it's your money.