• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

1986 Ellis Island Dollar coin

12 posts in this topic

I have 2 Ellis Island mint dollars I received this month. One is bright and beautiful silver, the other has a gold tint that's very noticeable. What is the difference ? I am new at collecting. I don't even know if this is the place to ask questions. Any help would be appreciated. Thank you.  

You've come to the right place. I assume these are the 1986 Commemorative dollars? Are they 'proof' PR or 'Mint State' MS? This would help.

My bad, :devil: 1986 is in the title. 

Yes it is a commemorative proof San Francisco mint. 1 dollar. Same size as my Silver Eagles. I have 2 1986 proofs, one bright silver the other. When compared side to side the other it has a bright gold tone to it. Very noticeable.  

As Conder101 has stated, "Sounds like one of them has started to tone." it is not uncommon to have a 30 year old proof coin to take on a golden tone. There is no difference between the two, the one that is taking on the golden tone was probably due to how it's been stored. There are collectors who desire the bight silver and those who prefer toning, you got the best of both worlds.

Gentleman thank you for the great information. Very helpful for a new collector as myself. I have lots of learning to do. I found an old collection I've had for years and it renewed my interest. I'm adding to it slowly as I learn.  

Toning can begin to form over time depending upon how the coin was stored, what might have been done to it with respect to dipping to remove tarnish, or sometimes it's just pure luck or bad luck.