• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Best Way to Store Coins

26 posts in this topic

I am rather new to collecting, but have a collection to maintain that was in my family. I want to know the best way to store the coins. Is buying the 2"x2" or 1.5"x1.5" cardboard holders bought from Brent Krueger along with flat staples a good way to go?

I have some plastic holders from there also for the more expensive coins.

I want to take the necessary steps. The coins were well kept in a coin cabinet, but the coins were unprotected on jewelers trays, and I would like to put them in some type of holder so they can be examined safely.

BTW, I am new to this board, but am really impressed with the manners, knowledge and spirit of helpfulness exhibited here. I have a jaded view of the coin industry because I have seen how my relatives estate was low-balled. It was absolutely appalling.

I have some other general newbie questions to ask regarding inventorying, recording (electronic image) etc. to ask, but I will give everyone some time to relax between my questions.

Thanks for all the help. I think I have found a great new hobby.

Welcome to the boards and the hobby! I think you'll find that the majority of the people you'll meet in the hobby are good people, but you do have to watch out for the lowlifes. frustrated.gif

As for coin storage... I like the carboard 2x2s the best for long term storage of most coins. Like you mentioned, flatten the staples. I also remove any dust on them with a soft brush or cloth before I put a coin in them. If stored in a cool, dry enviroment, they'll be fine for years that way.