• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

New collector/poster trying to glean info....

11 posts in this topic

I am completely new to both coin collecting and this board but have uncovered, within myself, something of a passion for coins.

Many questions have come to mind but a couple in particular which I cannot find answers for so would appreciate any kind of response.

Firstly, US mint proof coins ('S' stamped) seem impossible to obtain direct from the mint itself (in my limited experience), how/where are these purchased without having to go to dealers or troll through EBay or similar auction sites?

My personal preference is bullion coins based in part on future investment. Is there a way of purchasing these or an outlet where I can obtain them without getting charged over the odds. There seems to be a fairly large variation in price from location to location for exactly the same item which is a little frustrating to the novice.

Any thoughts/responses greatly appreciated.

Welcome to the board.

You can buy the proof coins directly from the U.S. mint web site every year. Here is the link to the site. http://www.usmint.gov/ ]U.S. Mint[/url]

As for your question about where to buy bullion coins, the mint does sell the proof versions directly, however they do not sell the uncirculated versions to the public. You will have to buy these from a dealer.

John

I am completely new to both coin collecting and this board but have uncovered, within myself, something of a passion for coins.

Many questions have come to mind but a couple in particular which I cannot find answers for so would appreciate any kind of response.