• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Did anyone see the 1861 C Half Eagle on Pawn Stars last night?

21 posts in this topic

Rick bought a raw 1861 Half Eagle last night. The in-house expert said it was genuine and put a $15K retail price on the piece. That would put it in the mid-AU range. I'm no expert on old gold but the piece looked XF at best and cleaned. I think Rick got it for under $10K.

yeah, rick mentioned that the TPG might send it back as 'cleaned'. i've seen guys from NGC and PCGS on Pawn Stars as one of the experts. i'm not sure why rick wouldn't have called one of them for such a big purchase.

Pawn Stars is scripted just like the rest of the so called “reality” shows.

However it is still fun to watch .

Yeah! The only episode that really hit home for me was the time that Charmy was on the show.

Chris

Totally scripted of course but the items are still fun to watch. Wish they would focus more on them then the little vignettes about the cast which are getting longer and more inane. Their casting department will be at the Long Beach show looking for potential items to put on the show.

Yes, I happened to see it. I couldn't understand it, but he's buried in that coin. I even thought I saw some reverse damage,

Paul

yeah i'm sure the parts where they are messing with each other are scripted. but i don't think the deals are scripted. i mean, they're definitely edited. but i don't think the producers give a seller a -script.

Yes, I happened to see it. I couldn't understand it, but he's buried in that coin. I even thought I saw some reverse damage,

Paul

I saw the show preview, but not the actual show.