• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

MODERN PROOF SETS FROM 1960 THRU 2010

16 posts in this topic

Hi

I'm new to this discussion.

I've been collecting coins since I was a little kid .I'm 63 now and recently pulled out my collection and started researching the coins over the internet.

My first question to you're group

1. It seems to me that Proof Sets are undervalued. I bought some of these for $7:00 straight from the mint and now they seem to be the same price.

I would think a pristine coin set would increase in value. Wha'ts wrong with my thinking.

Thanks for any advise.. I'm enjoying looking thru the forum

Part of the trouble is there are too many of those "pristine coins." The survival rates on those coins is very high, and collector demand is not high enough to sustain any price increases for them. The trouble is the collectors who want those sets buy them during the year of issue, and there is not enough "new blood" to push up or even sustain demand in the subsequent years. Finding high grade Mint State coins from the same years is all most always much harder, and demand for them is higher.

Personally I like and prefer Proof coins, but I am different in that regard. Many collectors are interested in the business strike coins which are much harder to find in the grades of MS-65 and above.

1. It seems to me that Proof Sets are undervalued. I bought some of these for $7:00 straight from the mint and now they seem to be the same price.

I would think a pristine coin set would increase in value. Wha'ts wrong with my thinking.Thanks for any advise.. I'm enjoying looking thru the forum