• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

SkyMan talks about space flown coins, currency and collectibles.

10 posts in this topic

I've been collecting space flown memorabilia for a little over 5 years now. As far as numismatics and space flown memorabilia go, there are 4 main areas; coins, currency, medalliions and "flown metal" medallions. Flown metal medallions are an area that I will not cover. Basically they were created by having an ingot carried along on a flight. When the flight returned to earth the ingot was melted along with a MUCH larger portion of comparable metal, and then medallions were printed out of this mixture. A somewhat more valuable variant of these medallions used a part of the spacecraft instead of a flown ingot of medal. I'm not a big fan of these flown metal medallions, as they really don't have any significant amounts of flown metal within them, and there is essentially no record keeping as to how many exist.

As far as actual flown medallions go there are two main types; Flitelines and Robbins. Both of them are about the size of quarters, with the Robbins medallions being a little larger than the Flitelines. The medallions designs are a medallic representation of the mission patch.