• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

A Newbie looking for thoughts on American Eagles

20 posts in this topic

I am new to coin collecting and first got lured in through the mint statehood quarter program. I was checking out the USmint web page for some general program information on the day that they happened to be selling the Delaware quarter bags. I bought some and have kept up with it since. However, I have been disappointed by the saturation of mint products that were orginally hard to obtain. In the begining, you only had up to a couple of hours to order the quarter bags until they sold out. Now you have several months. Therefore I have started to lose interest because they are not relatively worth anything anymore.

I have a very limited budget and therefore cannot start collecting some of the beautiful classics. Instead, I have turned to the eagle series (the smaller gold and platinum, and silver). I know, I know........why the heck would you want to collect bullion? I like the idea of the precious metals over the clad in the moderns.

What are the thoughts on the collectibility of the eagles? Am I way off base on this and just wasting money? I was acquiring the MS grades but was wondering about whether the proofs were the way to go. I really want to get into the gold indians, but that will have to wait for some time. A long time.........

Sorry for the dual post on ask the experts section. I couldn't seem to post on this forum at first.

I'm no expert on moderns and bullion material, but I think you should collect whatever makes you happy.