• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Shifting Gears On Morgan Carson City Collection posted by Mr. Bo Jingles

6 posts in this topic

• Member: Seasoned Veteran

Going back to the basics-GSA Holders: The way these gems should be collected and revered.

I have been collecting Carson City Morgan dollars for a few years now. I have changed directions on my collection more times than my lovely wife wants to hear. I don't blame her...I have a bit of OCD running through my grey matter.

I have always loved trying to get real nice GSA holder dollars for my collection because of the history and provenance of the mint, the Comstock Load, and the coins themselves. Add to my passion (obsession?) for collecting GSA Holders the fact that many dealers and grading services cracked THOUSANDS of these coins out of their holders to be graded equals an issue that is most likely more rare than anybody really knows at this point.

Well, I have decided to part with all my Carson City Morgans that were slabbed in NGC and PCGS holders and pursue the GSA Holder set. Being on a strict budget makes this pretty tricky. I am retired and kind of picked the wrong set to attempt to collect considering my last name isn't Trump!

I look forward to this journey. I just recently acquired an 1881 MS66 that is a beauty and an 1885 MS65 (really want a MS66! Someday...) and that puts my set at 63% complete and it now sits at #52 on the NGC set ranking.

I am four coins away from the complete set. Of course, the last four coins are pretty much a long and winding road away from my set right now with me needing the 1878, 1879, 1880R78, and 1991 to finish my dream set.