• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

what to do with old coins in bags?

16 posts in this topic

My grandmother was born in the early 1900s and started collecting coins when she was young, right up until she passed in the early 90s. I inherited her collection but just got my hands on it recently from my father when he realized I was into coins and he wasn't. Here's the problem: there are two boxes FULL of coins that each weigh probably 20-30 lbs each. We're talking old Franklins, liberties, Walkers, and books of nickles and cents. The loose stuff is (she did this with everything, not just coins) wrapped in paper towels and then put inside plastic bags. I am pretty new in collecting, but even I know pvc is a bad thing for coins....paper towels probably aren't great either.. Of course what damage may have been done is done at this point. Still, I need to sort through and see what's there and package it accordingly. Any suggestions on what to do or how to start? I have only gotten into the top layers, but I think this is going to take awhile.

As you sort through everything, the most important thing would be to separate those that may have considerably more value or rarity (keys & semi-keys) from the rest - the wheat from the chaff, so to speak. Put them into individual holders - cardboard 2x2's would be the cheapest for the time being.

For the common-date stuff, the current generation of Zip-Loc bags do not contain PVC so it is okay to use them for separating each denomination/type. If you suspect that any coin may be contaminated, separate all of them from the rest.

Once you've completed this, then you can go about separating coins by date/mm, and finally, inspecting each coin for condition.