• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

For all you closet modern lovers...

9 posts in this topic

In the spirit of trying to show that I really do not believe that every coin minted after 1933 is , here are some photos of a few coins I had laying around the house (I apologize for the photos if they are poor quality, but I am not a professional!):

1953-S Obverse

1953-S Reverse

1963 Obverse

1963 Reverse

1970-D Obverse

1970-D Reverse

1972-S Obverse

1972-S Reverse

Nice coins.

I'm a closet moderns lover too. I have a complete set of Frankies, Roosies, Ikes and Jeffs, all in Dansco albums.

I bought my Ike set for $100 a few years ago, before the big run-up. I was gonna buy a set of JFKs too, but I was too late and the prices had already started to go up.

Some of my Frankies are proofs.

I also collect SQs from circulation and place them into a Whitman album. I'm tempted to start buying some raw ones to fill the holes. Last year, Legend set up next to a dealer with boxes of SQs of all states and mints. The prices varied, but all were under $2/ea. George distracted me, and I forgot to buy them.

frown.gif

EVP

I do the same thing EVP, except my Franklins are all slabbed, and my Kennedys are all from circulation (except the 70-D), my washingtons are mostly circ, and as for SQs, the dealer I used to frequent in Portland sold them for 50 cents each in unc, and the other dealer just had a bucket of circ SQs, need one just take it and replace it with another SQ. I like modern silver, it seems like the mint still can't strike nice coins in clad. I just ordered my roll of 2003 silver eagles, and it sounds dumb, but I've been ordering a roll a year since 1990, and just put them away.