• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

1913 Buffalo Nickel TONED..slabbing questions???

7 posts in this topic

Hi Everyone, this is my first time posting here. I am about to send my first coin to be slabbed by NGC and am worried about it. But first, allow me to give you a little background on this coin and myself.

I am by no means a newbie! Everything numismatic that I read and see soaks into my head...so I understand the outcome of coin gradings and I am very enthusiastic about beautiful coins! And what are three things everyone should know about me?

1) I like to collect mintstate coins because I feel that this is how the artist intended us to view thier masterpieces.

2) I am a sucker for a rainbow toned coin

3) There is no such thing as MS / PF 70...in my honest opinion. I feel that this is a theoretical grade.

Anyway, on with the thread. About a year ago, I was at my local coin shop and I had arrived before my dealer got there. So, I had donuts and he had the coffee. We entered, he turned the lights on and situated his shop. Then, as we were alone, he said that he had something that I might be interested in. He opened his vault and pulled out an unsuspecting roll of coins...it appeared to be an original roll from 10 feet away.

He brought it closer and handed it to me to inspect...it was an older original roll!!! He asked me to guess what was inside and I said well, it is definitely a roll of nickels and I said "Jeffersons?" and he replied "NO!"