• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Guess the Grade: 1885-O Morgan ~~~Grade Posted!!~~~

24 posts in this topic

I assume those diagonal lines on the obverse are scratches on the plastic. I can't tell if those are bag marks or something else under the scratches, but I will give you the benefit of the doubt and say 64.

Chris

I'll give it a 64. Those "scuffs" of on chin I've seen on practically every year Morgan out there.I'm no Morgan expert but I say they are roller marks(I think). I do know they must be mint caused because of how prevalent they are over most of the dates. They really come out looking very exaggerated in photos. I've got a dozen or so different Morgans with the same lines going in the same direction.I've seen them on up to MS 66 Morgans.

I assume those diagonal lines on the obverse are scratches on the plastic. I can't tell if those are bag marks or something else under the scratches, but I will give you the benefit of the doubt and say 64.

Chris

I totally agree. Also, I like the rim toning, reminds me of one I have in an old Fatty. This one in a Fatty as well?

Under Closer Scutiny :o)

I think that the scrape is on the holder but there is some hits underneath that and some field issues

Excellent strike for an "O:" mint coin

NICE NT rim tone color

MS64 +

Okay I realize that the pictures are not that great (they are the sellers pictures) and

guessing the grade may be hard. I will post better pictures when I get the coin in hand.

Okay I realize that the pictures are not that great (they are the sellers pictures) and

guessing the grade may be hard. I will post better pictures when I get the coin in hand.