• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Italy 5 Lira 1873 - Mint Mark ID

10 posts in this topic

Newbie here - Happy New Year to ALL

Can anyone tell me which image depicts the original and which depicts the counterfit?

Thank you for your help.

Let's qualify this just a smidge - shall we?

Of the top picture, I have 17 coins - each in very fine condition. The mint marks are scripted "M" (to the left of L) and "B" (to the right of 5).

Of the bottom picture, I have 11 coins - each in good condition. The mint mark is a single letter "R" (to the left of L).

One of these mint marks is a counterfit, but nowhere have I been able to confirm which.

Is there a resident expert able to shed light on a seemingly simple question?

Forgive me for being blunt, but if you've bought nearly or over a dozen coins of each type and you think one of these is counterfeit, then you've been exceedingly foolish. You should have asked this question a long time ago and stopped buying until you had an answer.

That said, unless there is someone knowledgable in Italian coins from this period in the forums, if it was worth it to you to buy 28 coins for what I'm sure was a fair bit of money, it should be worth it to you to buy a book on the subject and get a definite and reliable answer.

I'm sorry if I'm being harsh here but I'm having a hard time understanding why you've done this.

I hope you get your answer. The forums are much more active on the weekends than during the week.