• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

How bad is this 1878CC Morgan?

11 posts in this topic

Somewhere between About Good and About Had It. (shrug)

Chris

Oh Shuddup you :makepoint:

Its looks to be a cleaned and retoned coin at a "FINE"

Welcome aboard

Thanks for the input.

I am new to this and I am learning that rather than buy, I need to study and learn more and when I think I have learned enough to start buying, I need to study some more. Problem is, the more I study and the more I think I know, the more eager I am to start buying!

I am curious and perhaps its very obvious but if you would be so kind, can you help my by answering a few questions?

1) Looking at Photograde and the AMA Grading Standards Books, I guessed that this would go F-12. What are the reasons this may go AG or VG?

2) How do you know this coin has been cleaned?

3) How do you know this has been retoned? Would this be the same as AT?

The coin does have the look of a coin that has been fiddled with! I would say VG10.

Then it might be the crappie scanned picture?

1878CCjpg-1.jpg

Properly grading a coin by images is a doubtful task at best, but you can still get a pretty good idea of what a coin could possibly grade out at. With this one, the Reverse is the factor that drags this coin to below Fine details. With Fine, the rim needs to be raised and sharp in all areas. The area marked indicates that the rim has worn down into the field, points off for that. I also feel that there just way to many individual feathers missing in the eagles left wing tip, (his right) more points off to bring this down to Very Good.