• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

1889 CC Morgan authentic and grade?

19 posts in this topic

I am new to collecting Morgans so I was wondering if anyone could tell by these photos if you think this coin is authentic or if there is some sort of telling feature that it may be a copy. Also, what grade would you give it if it turns out to be authentic? Thanks, great forums!

Deryk <a  href=1889ccwv5.jpg' alt='1889ccwv5.jpg'>

1889ccbackyz5.jpg

w640.png

Well first off welcome to the forum deryk. You may want to wait for others to chime in here with more knowledge but my frist impression by the pics is Authentic, but this coin looks to have been polished to me. I could be wrong so please do not take my post with negative feelings.

This appears to be either a heavily altered coin or a struck counterfeit. I would stay far away from it. The details grade would be around AU if genuine, but at that level, you are playing with fire if you are not buying a certified coin, or an uncertified coin from someone you trust. Avoid!

This appears to be either a heavily altered coin or a struck counterfeit. I would stay far away from it. The details grade would be around AU if genuine, but at that level, you are playing with fire if you are not buying a certified coin, or an uncertified coin from someone you trust. Avoid!
I definitely have to agree with James. AT to boot.

Wow, this year is uber rare for the Morgan dollar series, for some reason, this one has a gut jerk reaction to it, so that says something right there. If it is a copy, it’s a danged good one…something about the eyebrow near the bridge of the nose just seems off a bit…perhaps the camera angle, polishing, artificial toning…dunno?